On October 29, 2016, I went to an event in Surabaya and I met this girl. Her name is Suci and she is from Sulawesi. I wondered how she could be there far from home. Turned out she had been joining an IELTS Camp at TEST-English School, Pare, Kediri.

She told me that she would be an instructor there once she had finished her course. So I began asking myself, can be like her? Be an instructor? It is the kind of activity I always have the passion for doing because I will learn together with my students; learning while teaching. Of course, there will be many things to consider whether I am suitable for the role or not.

Thus, I contacted TEST-English School. I asked about the camp and the possibility of becoming an instructor. I decided to take an IELTS Camp. The administrator said that, as IELTS is an advanced English, there will be a placement test to decide whether you are eligible or not.

IELTS Camp – The First Day

On November 11, 2016, I went to Pare by bus. I was nervous what if I could not achieve the minimum score? As you cannot proceed to participate the IELTS camp if you fail the placement test.

I arrived at TEST and the instructor directly took me to the test room. I was given 60 minutes for reading and writing sections. For speaking section, it was more like an interview. Where did I know about TEST? Why IELTS Camp? Etc. And… I passed the placement test!

I met Suci in the office. I was glad to see her again. After she had accompanied me drawing money to complete the payment, she showed me the dormitory. It was decided that I will be staying in the seventh room of Amelinda House.

IELTS Camp – The First Week

There is something unique on how we address the instructors; “Mizu” for men instructors and “Mozel” for women instructors. It is how men and women are addressed in France; Monsieur and Mademoiselle. I believe there are many reasons for that, but I don’t know it yet. I’m sorry.

The class was started on November 14, 2016. Every morning, we had memorizing class. And whoever couldn’t pass the minimum score, there would be a “reward”. For the record, there were only three days of classes in the first week.

On November 19, 2016, there was “Scoring”; a simulation test, but only for listening and reading sections in the first week. Surprisingly, I got a pretty good score. This scoring is what I need so that I will be used to working under pressure. I remembered that someone (I can’t remember who) told me that there will be scoring, scoring and scoring in the upcoming weeks. Well, so far so good…

